deutsch29

On June 7, 2014, Washington Post reporter Lyndsey Layton published a blockbuster article largely based on a 28-minute interview she had with Gates following his keynote speech at the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards’ (NBPTS) Teaching and Learning Conference in Washington, DC, on March 14, 2014.

I am writing my second book, this one on the origins of the Common Core State Standards (CCSS). In the process of writing a chapter on the Gates bankrolling of CCSS, I transcribed the entire 28- minute interview, complete with every “uhh” and “you know.”

My primary purpose in writing this post is to make my transcription available to the public:

Layton-Gates Interview March 14, 2014

Allow me to offer a few observations regarding both Layton’s March interview and her June article:

The June Article

The layout of Layton’s June article is such that one might mistake the entire article as being based…

View original post 545 more words

